Automating a presentation

I’m a resident at an orthopaedic surgery hospital. Every week I have this task to report all the operations we’ve done in the last week. We do that by creating a presentation (either in Powerpoint or Google Slides). I do this by using Google Slides. It’s a simple presentation with text at the bottom, images of the X-Ray’s and/or intraoperative images of the patients at the top. All the images are kept in my Google Drive folder during the week and the text is kept in an image file (“text image”) in another folder. Both the images and text image are labeled as the name of the patient and they take up one slide. This entire task is time consuming for me, I have ~20 patients every week and all of them have preoperative and postoperative images, I do this all by myself. I was wondering if there is a way to automate a part, or the entire task. Somebody suggested I used Google Slides API for the presentation creating itself, and OpenCV for image editing

I keep all my older presentations in a separate folder. Can OpenCV assist me in cropping the X-Ray images and pulling the appropriate text from the “text image” file?

numpy arrays are the common data format at runtime. a lot of libraries can deal with numpy arrays.

numpy itself lets you take a slice of an array. that is cropping.

OpenCV may not know how to read your type of medical image. there are other libraries specifically for reading and writing various image types.

OpenCV is also not an app you can interact with. if you need to drag a rectangle on your image for the cropping, that can be done because OpenCV supports some GUI by itself but that too isn’t its purpose and the GUI facilities provided by OpenCV are bare, not user-friendly.

are you saying it’s an image file with text drawn in it? why is text kept in an image file? is this hand-written or not?