Best approach to detect different known objects

I’m trying to develop an app that detects tools and shows brief how-to-use instructions. I have tried with cascade classifiers and I have achieved detection of faces (using a sample lbp classifier, just to test), but since I have to detect more than one object (let’s say about 6 different tools), I don’t know if my approach is correct and I should use 6 different classifiers or I should have used HOG descriptors, feature detection, BagOfWords…
I’m quite new to OpenCV, so any help would be appreciated :slight_smile:

instead of a face detection screenshot (we all know…)
please rather show objects you want to detect :wink:

and just use deep learning.

as soon as your objects can be rotated, you can completely forget about haar cascade and HoG classifiers.

anything based on feature descriptors (VBoW) can’t come close to the quality of deep neural networks.

I don’t understand the purpose of your answer. I used the face classifier because it is given as a sample , once I’m able to detect more than one object efficiently I will traim my own classifiers. I just wanted recommendation/advice on whether I was on the right track or should I deal with it differently, did’t ask for the sassy answer though.

Why is it important if the object can be rotated? I am only interested in object recognition (for example scissors, hammer…), not image manipulation. Although I’m using LBP instead of HAAR as it’s mobile phone oriented and it’s supposed to be lighter/faster (at least is what I have read). Thanks for the answer :slight_smile:

you misunderstand.

“rotated” meaning the object is viewed from different angles. haar cascades already fail if the subject tilts their head (or you rotate your smartphone). LBP is no different in this regard.