Find distance from color blue

Hello,
For a project I need to find the distance from a blue line of tape.
Some background info is I am trying to create an autonomous model car and need the distance between the camera and the lane.
How would I go about doing this?

Thanks,
Dev_101

)

got the camera calibrated? know the width of the tape? can you find the tape (segmentation mask, measure width in pixels)?

Hello,
Sorry for being very in specific. I have never done anything like this before due to me being 12. That said this is the camera I would use: https://www.amazon.com/Camera-Module-Keenso-Million-Pixels-Automatically/dp/B07WJY2SNZ.
Hope that helps,
Dev_101

oh ok.

the geometry is basically just similar triangles or intercept theorem.

you can skip more involved camera “calibration”. just take a picture of something you can measure physically (width of tape, distance to camera) and in pixels (literally selection rectangle in mspaint will do). choice of physical units doesn’t matter, just has to be consistent.

focal length [px] = width [px] / width [m] * distance [m]

that’s the single constant for the camera (and lens) that’ll relate angles to pixels. angles because it’s a camera, that’s all it sees, and because there’s an angle hidden in the projection equation (see also: camera matrix):

width[px] = f[px] * width[m] / distance[m]

where tan(angle) = width/distance. the calculations don’t involve actual angles most of the time, just f.

amazon link says 72 degrees field of view (diagonally), so I would expect f ~ 2230 or so, because f * tan(72/2 * pi/180) == hypot(2592/2, 1944/2)

I’d recommend first working on a single picture. since that’s a “pi camera”, there are many ways to take a single picture. when your code works on a single picture, you can easily extend it to work on (live) video. trying to develop while everything moves is just needless complication.

for the programming, you might want to start with