Finding the centroid of very irregular image

I’m very new to using opencv, so it’s likely the case that I’m just going about this wrong.

I have several irregularly shaped objects in an image, and need to find the centers an minimum enclosing circle. But, I end up finding centers all along the contours I find.

Any guidance here?

The python snippet I am using…

# Convert to binary image
    ret,thresh = cv.threshold(self._cartooned,127,255,0)
    self.show("binary", thresh)

# find contours in the binary image
    #im2, contours, hierarchy = cv.findContours(thresh,cv.RETR_TREE,cv.CHAIN_APPROX_SIMPLE)
    contours, hierarchy = cv.findContours(thresh,cv.RETR_TREE,cv.CHAIN_APPROX_SIMPLE)
    for c in contours:
        # calculate moments for each contour
        M = cv.moments(c)

if M["m00"] != 0:
            cX = int(M["m10"] / M["m00"])
            cY = int(M["m01"] / M["m00"])
        else:
            cX, cY = 0, 0
        # calculate x,y coordinate of center
        # cX = int(M["m10"] / M["m00"])
        # cY = int(M["m01"] / M["m00"])
        cv.circle(self._image, (cX, cY), 5, (255, 255, 255), -1)
        cv.putText(self._image, "centroid", (cX - 25, cY - 25),cv.FONT_HERSHEY_SIMPLEX, 0.5, (255, 255, 255), 2)

self.show("centers", self._image)
    cv.waitKey()

The source image

binary

I would attach the result, but it looks like I am limited to including only one image.

Thanks,
-Evan-

The result:
centers

please post original full-resolution data, not plots.

you probably have many more contours, than you expected, so you would need to filter the contours for size/area (and keep only the largest few) before trying to find the center

The binary image I’m working on:

The source

Unfortunately, I don’t know in advance how large the objects are or how many of them there are, so it seems like filtering them based on area would be a bit of a challenge here.

dilation / erosion