How to detect a (LED) Light Source on an image

Hello OpenCV Community,

The project I am currently working on requires me to be able to detect (LED) light sources on an image or video feed. To do this, I want to use OpenCV since it looks like a very capable library. I am new to OpenCV however an am unsure how to proceed.

I watched some basic youtube tutorials on OpenCV and understand the basics, but am far from able to implement this on my own. Therefore, I searched similar projects on GitHub but unfortunately can’t get them quite to work or don’t really understand what is going on.

This is why I make this post, to ask for tips / advice on how to tackle this project, as well as some explanations if possible.

As a practical example, I have this image of a LED light source as input on which I want to detect the light source and draw a circle around the LED to highlight it. So in short:

Input: original image → OpenCV processing → Output: image with circle around detected LED light source.

The input and output image examples (imgur link):

How can I achieve this effect with OpenCV ?

Thank you for your help !

With Kind Regards,

BillyIce

welcome.

that very much depends on how your light source looks in a picture. I can tell you right now, whether it’s LED or something else, will be hard/impossible to distinguish.

there is always the possibility that you won’t detect the “light source”, or that you will detect something as “light source” when it’s something else. approaches can be judged in how likely they are to make errors of these kinds.

you can approach this with varying complexity and quality. that can go as far as training a neural network… if you have the data.

simplest thing you can do is to find areas that are overexposed, i.e. almost perfect white. inRange or threshold, findContours, boundingRect or minEnclosingCircle.

1 Like

Hello,

Thank you for your reply.