How to detect and highlight small PCB circuit trace

Hi, I am trying to highlight all circuit trace in a gray-scale PCB image(attached). I’d like to highlight only the traces but not the ground pad.

Can someone recommend some good approach?
Thank you,

can you do computed tomography instead of a plain x-ray? that would make things easier. the trouble here is that you see two copper layers and it’s impossible (in the general case) to tell which layer a trace belongs to.

Hi @crackwitz,

Yes, I can do computed tomography. Do you have any good approaches? I’m quite new to image processing, so I’m learning.

@crackwitz , I figure my pervious question was too general. Here is a specific question that I would like to ask.

I have my CT-scanned PCB file. My first preprocessing stage is to align the 2D stack of all slices (since PCB is CT-scanned with a slight tilt in both X and Y angle and this result in missing and/or aliased information in Z-axis projection).
What is the best approach to iterate through all slices and correct the alignment?

this is the 3D version of a problem that’s 2D for flatbed scans of text. when someone scans a piece of printed text, it might not be rotated upright, so this is a typical correction step for scanned text.

this here uses a fourier transform and finds the peaks, which correspond to the angle you might wanna rotate the entire thing so it’s axis-aligned. just look at the pictures and skim the description, you’ll get the idea. I’m not saying the script is directly applicable here. Fred's ImageMagick Scripts: TEXTDESKEW

or you could calculate a PCA. the eigenvectors belonging to the two largest eigenvalues span the plane that’s probably very close (in rotation) to the copper planes.