How to find the rotated angle of object?

@laurent.berger Thanks for the code! I am currently using it for one of my projects and was wondering in the equations you supplied at the end, why is the boundary for the second equation p=-N/2 to N/2-1. It is my understanding that this is the forward FT, so shouldn’t it be from 0 to N? Thanks!

https://answers.opencv.org/question/74712/how-to-find-the-rotated-angle-of-object/

1 Like

Hi,
this code is now in opencv_contrib
Discrete Fourier transform is a periodic function (period = N)

1 Like

Hi, would you be kindly willing to have a quick zoom meeting to discuss the code in more detail? I am new to image processing and a bit lost trying to figure out what each function does

You should first read a math book about fourier and dft transform and read papers in bibliography
E Persoon and King-Sun Fu. Shape discrimination using fourier descriptors. IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence , 7(3):170–179, 1977.
L Berger, V A Raghunathan, C Launay, D Ausserré, and Y Gallot. Coalescence in 2 dimensions: experiments on thin copolymer films and numerical simulations. The European Physical Journal B - Condensed Matter and Complex Systems , 2(1):93–99, 1998.

and http://www.numerical.recipes/

a tutorial or some explanation of that module would be helpful. the docs so far only present the APIs, but not what their purpose is, or how to use/combine them.

the issue isn’t understanding the (discrete) fourier transform but what it is doing here specifically. it’s insufficient to merely point at references to scientific publications from 1977 that aren’t even hyperlinks. this is not a scientific paper, it’s a software library. it’s engineering.

personally, I’m always thrilled to see some illustrations. illustrations are a good idea in most cases because they are more precise than paragraphs of words.

thank you for your contribution.

3 Likes

there is two samples

and there is this too