How to test a LCD display?

Hi, I am totally new to OpenCV and I want to do something relatively simple (I hope).

I want to test a LCD display with 7 segment digits in too sizes, some special symbols and backlight in different colors.

I want to test the segments and the correct backlight (missing LEDs or wrong color).

My problem is that I don’t know where to start. A lot of tutorials only show face recognition or object detection.

Can you recommend any tutorials that help me to finish this job?

could you add a picture

Luckily I can. This is a HDR image I made with my smartphone.

Taking a single picture can be tricky because of variations in exposure. Maybe I have to make more than one picture with different exposures.

first you need to build a “jig” where you put the LCD and the camera so they’re always in the same relative position to each other, and put blinds around it all to shield from outside light (which is a distraction).

This already exists.

I watched the freeCodeCamp video, but that wasn’t helpful. Just image processing basics (I already know) and face detection. Almost 4 wasted hours.

But how can I test if the segments are ok, the color of a segment is correct or the brightness is as expected?

Can you recommend videos or tutorials that help me to solve my problem without wasting more time?

We are here to help you, not to write your homework.

And, to learn anything (including computer vision and image processing), you’ll have to “waste time”. Lot of time. Sorry.

Anyway, if you have a camera setup, you can define a mask for every segment you want to check, apply that mask on the image and get the mean value. It will give the color and intensity of the segment.

@burli

Going super simple, choose a fixed pixel coordinate for each segment, and test the color in that pixel.

@kbarni i don’t expect that you write code for me. I just ask for a direction.