How to use openCV in TypeScript

Hi!

I am new to openCV and am trying to apply in a TypeScript project.

I tested it following the instruction on the openCV documentation for using in node.js environment and it worked fine. However, it does not seem to work with the very same code (makes sense since that’s what TypeScript is for).

I found this solution on Github issue section guiding to do npm i mirada which solves type declaration problem in TypeScript.

So if I include console.log('testing..!!') in opencv.js file (the one on the opencv documentation for nodejs), I do see the output string on terminal so I figured that it is imported fine.

My final goal is to warp an image like this here in the last example.

The problems are:

1. I cannot use cv.imread()
    I keep seeing HTMLImageElement is not definedas an error message on terminal.
    So I used an workaround for reading an image like this
Jimp.read('./lena.jpg')
            .then((lena) => {
                var src = cv.matFromImageData(lena.bitmap);
                let dst = new cv.Mat();

})
  1. When I console.log()
    const output = cv.warpPerspective(src, dst, M, dsize, cv.INTER_LINEAR, cv.BORDER_CONSTANT, new cv.Scalar());, it does not show or do anything.

If anyone knows how I openCV can be used in TypeScript, please share!

Thanks, everyone!

Happy Coding!

the API, in js, seems to read from canvasses and so on, not necessarily files. what exact code did you try to use it in?

(no idea about typescript, node, jimp, etc but…: )

• warpPerspective() does not return anything so there will be no output

• what is M ?

• do you receive anything in dst ?

• try to log / visualize each step in your calculation
    (sure, you even reach that line ?)

• When I console.log()

what exactly, how ? please show exact code (your snippet above stops, where things get interesting …)

• I keep seeing HTMLImageElement is not defined

so, this is running on a server, not from a browser ?

1 Like