OpenCV and deep learning neural networks

Hi to everyone!!! I am pretty new to OpenCV and object detection algorithm., i was able to run some code examples with face detection and recognition using openCV and haarcascades classifiers, but i suppose this methods are “deprecated” and more stable algorithms are based on deep learning and neural networks. When i start to investigate this question i stucked with a huge variations and combinations of deep learning algorithms and i don’t really know from what point to start and what is the best choise for me…

My goal is to make a face mask detection software based on OpenCV and deep learning network model using C++ language (please don’t suggest python).

Could you please help me to find the best combination for my task? I need the whole pipeline: building and training my own deep learning neural network model from scratch (or get pretrained), run openCV detection with that model.

Thank you very much!!! I working on cross platform C++ project in windows PC using Visual Studio 2019.

well at least for that part you won’t be able to avoid coding in python
(as you need to use some framework like tf or pytorch for the (re-)training)
((but hey, it’s all C, if you stick with YOLO…))

try to find a simple tutorial on “object-detection” networks

1 Like

I already found some tutorials with different bunches ncnn+opencv, tensorflow+opencv, but all examples predominantly with python code.

Thank you for a tip about the python coding, i am ready to learn how to create and train model with python, but my main project needs to be in C++.

Could you please do me a favour and advice which bunch to choose for my task:

1. ncnn+openCV
  2. tensorflow + openCV
  3. caffe + openCV
  4. dnn + openCV

And how to choose from a huge plenty of neural networks:

1. R-CNN
  2. YOLO
  3. HOG
  4. R-FCN
  5. SSD

What is the most popular practice? Help to choose please

1. i dont know it, but it looks like inference only (no training there)