Remove 6 bit from 16 bit depth pixels

Hello,
I am a newbie to opencv, so I try to learn from forum posts and videos. But now I reached a deadlock. So I decided to ask the community. I have a camera which streaming raw 10 bit image via USB, I have created a firmware which can send this stream as a 16 bit YUY video(UVC not supports raw rgb). But now I have to remove the extra bits from every pixel to show the video without distortion. Is openCV the proper tool for the task?

It should be simple. You can create directly an image of arbitrary type from a raw buffer. You receive a W*H*2 bytes image in the buffer variable.

uchar *buffer;
int W,H;
network.receive(buffer,&W,&H); //or something like this
Mat depth_image(H,W,CV_16UC1,buffer); //create a 1 channel 16 bit Mat from the buffer

Voilà, that’s all!

Thank you for your response,
Maybe I misunderstand something, but I receive 3 channel color images(distorted but color). If I cast them into single channel, they will became grayscale, won’t they? Also can a 16 bit one channel image show the true colors of a 10 bit image?

Best Regards,
Bence

I don’t really understand what is the format of your image. This is the solution for a 16 bits/pixel YUV 4:4:4 encoding.
If you have 16 bits/channel color image (some kind of HDR image) or something similar, just create a Mat with the actual format, then use cvtColor or split to convert it to grayscale, which will contain the depth data.

Mat received_image(H,W,CV_16UC3,buffer);
Mat depth_image;
cvtColor(received_image,depth_image,COLOR_YUV2GRAY);