Symbol recognition is very poor, not sure why

Hi! I’m new to using OpenCV and I used this short tutorial for KNN character recognition. OpenCV 3 KNN Character Recognition C++ - YouTube
I switched out the image used for training for one with custom drawn symbols. However, the accuracy is not very good.

This is my image for generating the xml file. Every time it gets a symbol wrong I paste it into the image. The “C” is super accurate, so I only needed to have it in there twice. But right now it keeps confusing the horizontal line for the circle, even though they are very distinct shapes.
I could keep putting more lines into the training data, but it does not seem to be helping very much. Is this normal? I’m not sure what else I can do to improve the accuracy. I’ve tried resizing the input image to different sizes, but nothing is helping.

so, we have to watch a silly youtube video, to understand, what you try to do ? NO WAY.

please show actual code / data.

The function for generating the xml file from the png is here link
The function for then recognizing the symbol from an input mat is here link

I have not made modifications to the code aside from changing the resized image width/height values as well as changing the valid chars in the intValidChars vector in the GenData function.

that repo wasn’t maintained in 6 years, and opencv3 was when ?

Symbol recognition is very poor

the methods applied here are definitely not SOA.

• cropping with contours
    did you visualize, what you get, e.g. from a | or - symbol ? in the worst case you get a solid black box …

• using raw, ‘flattened’ pixels as ‘features’
    cheap, but inaccurate.
    e.g. draw a small & a large circle on paper, cut up both into slices & compare (manually, as a human !) – you won’t find many matching parts, though this should be the same ‘class’ !