Tracking and recording at different resolutions

I have been able to successfully track objects with a Pi3A+ processor and camera using OpenCV’s Mosse algorithm based on this python code. I believe tracking is at OpenCV’s default resolution of 640x480, and the bounding box output has been used to drive motors to direct a separate GoPro camera to record video at a higher resolution.

I now wish to try to use only the tracking camera (1080p resolution) to do both the tracking (at say the same 640x480) as well as recording at a higher resolution (say 720x480 or even 1280x720) if the processor is fast enough for >25fps. As an OpenCV/Python novice I have found an example of code to record video at a specified resolution. But I can’t figure out how to capture and track at different resolutions.

I believe this may be possible with the resize function? Is this the most efficient method to track and record at different resolutions in OpenCV? If so, could you please share an example?

there’s actually no such thing (it’s just the most common one)

I believe this may be possible with the resize function?

sure, obvious idea !

# define rez
resTrack = (640,480) #or whatever
resWrite = (1280, 720)

#open devices
cap = cv.VideoCapture.open(0)
cap.set( cv.CAP_PROP_FRAME_WIDTH, resTrack[0])
cap.set( cv.CAP_PROP_FRAME_HEIGHT, resTrack[1])

writer = cv2.VideoWriter( "my.avi",  cv.VideoWriter_fourcc(*'XVID'). 25, resWrite)

# ... later, in loop:
    bbox = tracker.update(image)
    # draw box into image, etc

imW = cv.resize(image, resWrite)
    writer.write(imw)

however, you should make some test runs & see, how long your processing (including writing to video !) takes, before you settle on an actual fps. don’t really expect this to run at >15 fps on a raspi …

this question feels familiar. I believe I answered that yesterday. did you ask on stackoverflow, but deleted it?