Basic image information

Hello.
I am new to OpenCV and I am porting some software from C++ to Python (for a number of reasons), and in C++ it is pretty easy to get number of channels and bit depth from an image loaded with imread. In Python? Cannot find this most basic image data - there does not seem to be any methods equivalent to C++ channels() and depth(). Can anyone help? Thanks in advance.

Hi,
opencv image are numpy arrays : use img.shape to get number of rows columms and channel
tutorials in python are here

Thanks Laurent!
I have tried this but my problem was that I was not getting the same information as the C++ code for the same image. I have a TIFF image with indexed colors, the C++ code gives me image.channels() = 1, and Python image.shape = [h, w, 3].

…Would have uploaded the image but it doesn’t seems to accept TIFF files…

MRE is required. for both languages. we don’t know what you did.

the numpy shape (h,w,3) indicates 3-channel data. your claim that in C++ image.channels() returns 1 would suggest you have 1-channel data there.

so your codes must not be equivalent.

Hello.
It is the exact same image file, it is an indexed TIFF file which this forum engine forbids to upload unfortunately. I made test code in both C++ and Python:

C++

#include <opencv.hpp>
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    cv::Mat input_image;
    cv::Size size;
    int numChannels = 0;
    string imageFile = "test.tif";

input_image = cv::imread(imageFile, -1);
    if (input_image.data == NULL)
    {
        cout << "Could not open file " << imageFile << endl;
        return -1;
    }

size = input_image.size();
    numChannels = input_image.channels();

cout << imageFile << ": height=" << size.height << ", width=" << size.width << ", channels=" << numChannels << endl;

return 0;
}

And Python:

import sys
import cv2

if __name__ == "__main__":
    imageFile="test.tif"
    inputImage = None

try: