Cropping white from image goes wrong :(

Hello there,

I’m trying to crop white from images generated in vpython. I’ve got the code working but am experiencing some weird behavior I do not understand.

An example is this image, i would like it to be cropped such that all the unnececairy white space is removed.

Unfortunatley the image crop is produced wrong. I wanted to post the result here but since im new I can only post one image. My problem is that a lot of the red arrows and red text are cut off, this should not happen.

I have a hard time understanding why this happens, i’ve tried to change the treshold below 254 but that did not work. I also tried to change the colors of the red arrow but that also did not work.

I would figure this should be extremely simple since my background is just 1 color.

Can anyone please explain me what is going on ?

This is my code:

#!/usr/bin/env python3
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
"""
Created on Sat Jul 30 21:26:56 2022

@author: windhoos
"""

import cv2
import numpy as np
#import sys
import os

# get the path/directory
folder_dir = os.path.dirname(__file__)

for images in os.listdir(folder_dir):

# check if the image ends with png
    if (images.endswith(".png")):

img = cv2.imread(images)

info = np.iinfo(img.dtype) # Get the information of the incoming image type
        img = img.astype(np.float64) / info.max # normalize the data to 0 - 1
        img = 255 * img # Now scale by 255
        img = img.astype(np.uint8)

## (1) Convert to gray, and threshold
        gray = cv2.cvtColor(img, cv2.COLOR_BGR2GRAY)
        th, threshed = cv2.threshold(gray, 254, 255, cv2.THRESH_BINARY_INV)

## (2) Morph-op to remove noise
        kernel = cv2.getStructuringElement(cv2.MORPH_ELLIPSE, (11,11))
        morphed = cv2.morphologyEx(threshed, cv2.MORPH_CLOSE, kernel)

## (3) Find the max-area contour
        cnts = cv2.findContours(morphed, cv2.RETR_EXTERNAL, cv2.CHAIN_APPROX_SIMPLE)[-2]
        cnt = sorted(cnts, key=cv2.contourArea)[-1]