Find known situation in an online feed

Hi everyone,

I am new to OpenCV, studied some books and tutorials but I’m not sure how to proceed.

We are developing a control for a pneumatic sample changer running on raspberry pi. The aim is to monitor the movement and recognize whether one of the 4 end positions (X and Y) has been reached.
Essentially, the software is to be trained to find out from an online feed whether a known situation is present and to generate an event from this.
The input signal comes from an infrared camera with its own lighting. Nevertheless, a change in the lighting situation must be taken into account.

Would you please be so kind and point me in the right direction?

Many thanks in advance

Rolf Wittig

please show a few pictures of this situation. variety helps. outside views of the whole setup are good, but so are those IR pictures that need to be used.

I am sorry, as my account is still very new, i do not have the authorisation to reply to my own post with the requested images. Please tell me how to show them to you.

you can use image pastebins like imgur. you can put multiple pictures in one “album” there, so it’s a single link to share.

Please find a feed and pictures of the 4 positions here:

If requested, I can provide more under different conditions though the variance is not as great as I expected.
Contrary to what was mentioned, I would only process individual images, not the feed. The movement stops at these points so that a clean image capture is possible.
I now see several starting points:
1.) A “blind” approach, simply a series of images to teach.
2.) Search for circles of a certain radius
3.) Set masks and compare the brightnesses there
4.) Stick IR markers and look specifically for them in the images.
5.) Anything else?
Which approach is possible and which would you prefer?