Position and rotation tracking of defined objects: Template matching, feature detection, YOLO or something different?

Hi,
I am new to image processing and not sure which way would be best for my problem, maybe someone can hint me in the right direction.

What problem am I trying to solve?
I want to track the position with rotation of a known but complex object with known size and no scaling in a Full HD real-time stream.
An example frame might look something like this:

Note that the orientation is only defined by the one small hole top right.

After identifying the position and rotation, I want to overlay an image matching the contours and marking a place on the object, for this object an example overlay would be this:
https://imgur.com/li2kQU3
The resulting image should be this:
https://imgur.com/sWeNa6v
Sorry for the imgur links, but I have only permission to embed one image as a new user.

If the object is moved (and rotated) the overlay should track the object and adjust the position to overlay the object with correct orientation again.
The overlay itself is no problem, with some masking I can place it fast onto a frame, but the tracking, especially rotation, is tricky.

The application will run on Windows 10 systems without dedicated GPU and only a Intel G4400T, 2 Cores @2,9 GHz. Better systems are possible if needed, but they need to be fanless, therefore no big dGPU. Different systems like a fanless Jetson Nano are possible, too.
The tracking can have some delay (1s max would be great).

Since everything is in a defined environment with known background and known object, my first guess would be, that a DNN like YOLO is not needed.
But the normal OpenCV template matching is not up the to task, I think.
I can not reduce frame size more than half size, because the small features important for detection are lost if down scaling more.