Using cv::Mat and/or cv::cuda::Mat with CUDA written custom code

Hello, I need to implement some image processing and computer vision algorithms in CUDA. I have written some image processing and computer vision code in OpenCV but I never used CUDA. I need books or tutorials to show me how to use OpenCV’s image classes with CUDA. I mean how to pass OpenCV’s image classes to CUDA functions? How to read an OpenCV image class pixel by pixel in CUDA. Also what are the best practices when combining OpenCV and CUDA. Should I run a main C/C++ file and call some .cu files in that C/C++ file or run a .cu file and call C/C++ headers/implementations in .cu? I am completely new in this and opened to all advices. And new forum looks awesome by the way.

1 Like

I made sample project.
Please refer to cuda_impl branch of this project.

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply Dandelion. I am going to check the example you provided. Also I am still open to any other documented knowledge.

You can pass a GpuMat data pointer directly to a kernel while Mat memory has to be copied to device memory using the CudaMalloc, CudaMemcpy calls. You can use regular cpp file and call methods from the .cu. But there are few examples and a couple pitfalls there especially when dealing with larger chunks of memory which exceed the possibilities of a forum (I cannot write a book here). This is something we would have to discuss by example. If you are interested let me know.

1 Like

Hello tmanthey, I’d like to know more. Also I am very disappointed that there are only few examples about how to use CUDA and OpenCV together. Especially for C++ language. It’s really very hard to find good OpenCV tutorials which use C++ these days. Most of the tutorials are in Python.

1 Like

There are good reasons for C++. We had to use Opencv and Cuda to actually port a Python tool to C++. We improved the speed 450x. Please contact me on my email info@evotegra.de