Using OpenCV to detect unpolished area of metalic element

Hi guys,
I’ve got recently an interesting project to do. I’m trying to get the unpolished area of pilers (not sure if it’s right word, looks like a scissors). The problem is that this certain area is barely visible by human eye, only when you get the right rotation in proper lightning. Moreover the arm of this pilers are rounded metallic and I have difficulties to set the light properly for camera.
I’ve been searching the whole internet for the right solution for this problem, not sure if it’s existing. The only solution that I found is using Deep Learning.
I’m not experienced in image processing, only got some experience during studies, so I know that it can be impossible, but I want to get the most knowledge I can in this project(my life doesn’t depend on it).
My question is, have you ever encounter this kind of problem(if yes, then how did you solve it) and is OpenCV the right tool to use in this project?
(Hope you can understand it, english is not my primary language)

As you can see, this area has different texture, but I have no idea how to implement this, to detection.

surface inspection.

companies make lots of money with knowing how to do that. and they keep their trade secrets. there might be scientific publications but those are scientific, i.e. not industrially proven.

you have correctly identified that reflection/lighting plays a crucial role in this. failure to do this right cannot be corrected after image acquisition. you might need to move light/workpiece/camera to acquire multiple pictures. you might have to do that with mechatronics (“robotics” but not smart).

your first task should be to figure out how to take pictures that show the surface condition well.

“well” means “machine-readable”, i.e. good contrast.

Thanks for your reply!