White balance 16-bit TIFF

Hello. We have an OpenCV script working to white balance 8-bit imagery based on a fixed light source used to illuminate an X-Rite chip chart, this light in turn used for a specialized form of volumetric capture. Since we use the same light and do our photogrammetric scanning in dark conditions, the values driving white balance based on the chip chart can be applied globally.

Alas, testing against control images the script falls apart when applied to 16-bit TIFFs. I’m not a programmer, am the end user working with others who produced the script, which I happily make available here if that’s helpful. Thanks.

please, do so . . . . . !

Thanks, awaiting the code from my colleague.

1 Like

there are some special functions in OpenCV that can’t operate on 16 bit data. OpenCV can perform reading, writing, and various arithmetic on 16 bit images/data.

MRE required. we can’t do your debugging for you if you can’t give us a program to debug. don’t forget the traceback or error message.

Thanks to you both. I received the script that works on 8-bit, also the one that doesn’t work with 16-bit, but now reading about MRE, I’m thinking I need my support to step in and try to comply with the “M” for minimal. He has sample files and a control group to compare against, will show up here soon. I’ll let him clarify the particulars of the operations being run, am hopeful either of you will be able to determine whether these fall inside the supported arithmetic with OpenCV. Again, many thanks.

it doesn’t have to be a minimal or reproducible MRE but there’s got to be some “meat on the table”. it’s always best if the one with the issue can present specifics like an API call that throws an error or a concrete “data situation”.

in the meantime, maybe you can explain,
why the shift to 16bit tiff happened ?

what’s in the data ? why does it need 16bit images now ?
would a simple conversion already do the trick ?