Why some Mats don't need to be uploaded when using GPU?

Hello,

I’m a newbie researching and experimenting with using OpenCV’s GPU interface. I notice that some Mat arguments to cv::cuda routines need to be uploaded to GPU while some others don’t. Why is that?

In cv::cuda::warpPerspective() for example, the first 2 arguments (the input and output images) need to be uploaded to the GPU. But the 3rd argument (the homography Mat) need not be uploaded.

Can anyone explain this nuance? How do the GPU routines handle the Mats that aren’t uploaded?

Thanks.

Using your example:

cv::cuda::warpPerspective(InputArray src, OutputArray dst, InputArray M, Size dsize, int flags = INTER_LINEAR,
    int borderMode = BORDER_CONSTANT, Scalar borderValue = Scalar(), Stream& stream = Stream::Null())

In a nutshell src and dst are the data you are going to work on whereas M is just a collection of function arguments/parameters, in the same way that dsize, flags, borderMode and borderValue are.

Now I can’t find any official documentation in the CUDA programming guide to justify passing arguments in host rather than device memory so take the next paragraph with a pinch of salt.