Overview about IR image processing and its raw information storage

Hi, I’m new to image processing and OpenCV. I’m here to educate myself about what are the rights tools for the work.
I’m working on a new project dealing with IR images, actually a stream of images. What I think I would like to accomplish is to read this stream of images and process it on-line to give some insights on the monitored process. I wanted to ask you, if you have experience or knowledge, if my idea is good:

1. Read the proprietary IR thermal information from the camera stream using its SDK. This should output the RAW information from the radiometric file: (640x480) matrix with each pixel having 16 bit of dynamic range to store the temperature.
  2. Use OpenCV to actually process the image, e.g. take a desired ROI, preprocess/process the information and run some algorithms online. This is the goal of OpenCV, right?
  3. Now I need to storage and move the raw information, e.g. save it to the cloud to archive the data. What can I do in this step? I tried educating myself but I found no reference or best practices. What I know is that since the matrix of information is the actual data (the radiometric information), I am not able to compress the image. Is there a best practice to save the data? What I thought of was: having a dataframe-like structure to save the metadata of the images, e.g. a parquet file, and a binary RLE of the raw information (since I expect there will be many black pixels around the object analysed in the desired ROI, so I can take advatange of it). Does OpenCV have functions to handle this situation? Are there other libraries to storage IR images efficiently?

Any input is appreciated, thanks!

why is that? it’s a thermal image?

no. that’s for runs of equal values. you don’t have that.

real-world measurements contain noise.