Using Open CV to detect greenhouse crop detection & infestation

Hey,
Jeffin here, I’m new to Open CV. am building hardware system to detect greenhouse crop infestation using the help of Open CV. I tried some cascade and did some training the results are zero. What all the things i need do for better results ?
i trained with 24x24 ,40 Positive and 100 negative images. Any specific system configuration requirement needed to train? because i checked some samples some images taking so long to provide the results some images don’t come up with results the command prompt not responding to some images. Any tips that help me to improve my training. Thanks

unfortunately, this is somewhat expected.
training cascades on this is probably the wrong tool for your job, and you might need something more advanced

make it like 4000 positives …

but first, let’s find out what your constraints are:

that’ s far too vague ! do you have a single kind of crop, or many ? different kind of “pest” plants ? please show us some example images. and be more clear about it.

please also see this

these are some images

1 Like

a hardware device on top on greenhouse continuously monitoring crops , not single crops different crops and get alerts to the farmer

and what would be the exact output of your program ?

what should we see in those images ? are those the cropped positives ? (if so, what are the "negatives ?)

Hi @jeffingeorge

Based on this description, I think we can view this as a classification problem, and I believe deep learning is the way to the solution. See, training a cnn based classificator is not that hard, building the training dataset is.

You can start taking many hundred of photos with and without infestation, covering all the expected range (different places, different plagues, etc.). Keep in mind that with 100 photos you can fall short. @berak’s 4000 photos is a more realistic guess.