Feasability and suggested approach to detect river-waterlevels?

Hi everyone.
I am new to CV (or, actually not even started yet), so assume no specific knowledge on my side…

I want to read waterlevels from pictures like these here:
https://data.rivermap.org/wassenphoto/hs-index2.php
(remove the filename part if the page is broken).

Ideally, i would want a cm reading. For this, it would be probably simplest to read a strain-gauge mounted or painted against a big rock.
But this is not feasable in many places like the above shown.
So, even if i can’t get a cm-reading from the image, any kind of number would be better than the raw image. Smoething that can be used to plot a (possibly not very accurate) graph.
The camera could also supply short video clips, if it would make detecting water-movement easyer.
In general, i wonder what experienced people think about the difficulty, best approach and possibly prior work.

I imagine the moving water (or generally water) vs. land could be detected and the ratio would be a number that i could use.
But as i have almost no knowledge about CV, there might be totally differnt approaches to this.
Also, i have read that IR images could help in detecting water vs. land. But looking at the ir-images, i don’t see immediately how this would help.

So, i hope to get some tips from people here. Or, maybe someone is even interested in the challenge and wants to contribute more? You would be more than welcome to contribute.

deep learning.

I doubt anything less will do… anything less effectively amounts to building an overly complicated sensor. you can have that cheaper and more reliably without any camera involved.

collect pictures.
collect “good” measurements in any way. some sensor a mile up/downstream, someone wades in there with a yard stick, anything. collect water level (height), but I’d also suggest also some measure of volume flow, if possible.